The team is joined by GuestKats Mirko Brüß, Rosie Burbidge, Nedim Malovic, Frantzeska Papadopolou, Mathilde Pavis, and Eibhlin Vardy
InternKats: Rose Hughes, Ieva Giedrimaite, and Cecilia Sbrolli
SpecialKats: Verónica Rodríguez Arguijo (TechieKat), Hayleigh Bosher (Book Review Editor), and Tian Lu (Asia Correspondent).

Friday, 19 August 2005


Reuters reports that the Netherlands and Belgian music collecting societies are to drop the “economic residency clauses” that prevent them from licensing music to online music to radio stations, online music retailers and other commercial users on a Europe-wide basis. The European Commission hopes that this will serve as an example to other Member States. The Commission is currently engaged in a programme of removing the system by which potential licensees have to obtain separate licences from the collecting society in each Member State in the hope of promoting online music services indigenous to the EU. The Commission has already warned the collecting societies that, by partitioning the EU market, they are putting themselves at risk of antitrust actions.

The IPKat, being a model European and lover of technology, favours steps that will allow free competition and stimulate new technological options for consumers.

1 comment:

Music Downloads Center said...

Hey, you have a great blog here! I'm definitely going to bookmark you!

I have a music site/blog. It pretty much covers music related stuff.

Come and check it out if you get time :-)

Subscribe to the IPKat's posts by email here

Just pop your email address into the box and click 'Subscribe':