The team is joined by GuestKats Mirko Brüß, Rosie Burbidge, Nedim Malovic, Frantzeska Papadopolou, Mathilde Pavis, and Eibhlin Vardy
InternKats: Rose Hughes, Ieva Giedrimaite, and Cecilia Sbrolli
SpecialKats: Verónica Rodríguez Arguijo (TechieKat), Hayleigh Bosher (Book Review Editor), and Tian Lu (Asia Correspondent).

Wednesday, 12 December 2007

Nothing to do over the winter break?

The IPKat is delighted to learn that the International Trademark Association (INTA) has just announced two academic competitions for the coming year. The first is the Ladas Memorial Award Competition. This competition, supported by the law firm of Ladas & Parry LLP, is in memory of the outstanding contributions to international intellectual property law made by the distinguished practitioner and author Stephen P. Ladas. There are two prize categories: student and professional. In each category, the award is given to the best paper on the subject of trade mark law or a matter that directly relates to or affects trade marks. Submission deadline is 11 January 2008. Each winner receives US $2,000 in cash; the student also gets a travel and lodging stipend of up to US $1,000 to attend the INTA Gala at INTA's Annual Meeting. Winners also receive a set of Dr Ladas' three-volume treaties and are invited to attend the 2008 INTA Gala, held as part of INTA's 130th Annual Meeting in Berlin, Germany. You can read the entry rules here.

The second award is the Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence. This Award, in honour of Beverly W. Pattishall, recognizes educators in the business and legal fields for outstanding instruction in the trade mark and trade identity field (Beverly W. Pattishall was a long-time partner in the firm of Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP). The Medal is presented every four years to the university or graduate school academic nominated by his/her peers or students, and who best exemplifies the qualities of excellence and innovation in teaching subjects related to trade marks and trade identity. The submission deadline is 25 January 2008. The winner gets a cash award of US $2,500 plus a travel and lodging stipend of up to US $1,000 to attend the 2008 INTA Gala in Berlin, Germany at INTA's 130th Annual Meeting, where he/she will be recognized before the outstanding volunteers and leaders of the Association. You can see the official Pattishall rules here.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Re the Ladas Memorial Competition, its mentioned in the rules that "To qualify, published articles must have been first published no more than one year prior to the January deadline". So students who have not got any articles published as yet, cant take part in the competition.Isnt it?

Subscribe to the IPKat's posts by email here

Just pop your email address into the box and click 'Subscribe':