Six of the Best: the IP Hall of Fame inductees for 2012

The IP Hall of Fame, a brainchild of Intellectual Asset Management, has just announced its fresh list of inductees for 2012. Usually there are just five, but since there was a tie for one of the places it was decided to be magnanimous and allow a sixth lucky soul into the celebrity circle.

Who are they? Since they're famous they need no introduction but a little explanation goes a long way and the IPKat is happy to explain what they are doing here:
Beatrix de Russe. As head of IP and licensing at Technicolor, Beatrix built and operated one of the biggest and most lucrative high-tech patent licensing operations in the world. 
Q. Todd Dickinson. Currently the executive director of AIPLA, Todd's previous roles include Under Secretary for Commerce for Intellectual Property and director of the USPTO. 
Alan Drewsen. Alan has been executive director of INTA since 1998, during which time the organization has grown and thrived in its mission to improve IP rights in its member countries.  
David Kappos. The Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and director of the USPTO since 2009, David was previously formerly head of IP at IBM. 
J Thomas McCarthy. An internationally renowned author on IP matters, Tom is the author of an eponymous treatise, McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition, which has been relied upon in over 2,000 judicial opinions.

Marybeth Peters. Marybeth was the United States Register of Copyrights 1994 until her retirement from the role in 2010, during which time she was instrumental in introducing an electronic filing system.
The inductees will be presented with their induction certificates at the IP Hall of Fame Gala Dinner on 25 June at the Estoril Casino during the IP Business Congress in Portugal. Well done, says the IPKat, you've conributed a huge amount for your various bits of the IP community.  Merpel says, it looks as if the best way to become famous is to be based in the United States and run an organisation ...

IP Hall of Fame here
IP Hall of Fame Academy members here
Six of the Best: the IP Hall of Fame inductees for 2012 Six of the Best: the IP Hall of Fame inductees for 2012 Reviewed by Jeremy on Friday, February 24, 2012 Rating: 5


  1. including organised crime......

  2. 5 out 6 are US American, only one non-American - the only woman. Mmmh -- mmh - mmh

  3. This is a toughy, but yeah... I probably would go with Beatrix.

  4. Shame that Nicholas Pumfrey has not yet been appointed. Not so much of a shame that Kamil Idris has not...


All comments must be moderated by a member of the IPKat team before they appear on the blog. Comments will not be allowed if the contravene the IPKat policy that readers' comments should not be obscene or defamatory; they should not consist of ad hominem attacks on members of the blog team or other comment-posters and they should make a constructive contribution to the discussion of the post on which they purport to comment.

It is also the IPKat policy that comments should not be made completely anonymously, and users should use a consistent name or pseudonym (which should not itself be defamatory or obscene, or that of another real person), either in the "identity" field, or at the beginning of the comment. Current practice is to, however, allow a limited number of comments that contravene this policy, provided that the comment has a high degree of relevance and the comment chain does not become too difficult to follow.

Learn more here:

Powered by Blogger.